My Favorite Books of 2021

Trevor Carlson
32 min readDec 13, 2021

From Buddha to Investing to Romance, the books that I loved in 2021.

Greetings from Porto, Portugal

Back in 2019 I sat down and wrote out a list of my favorite books from the year and why I loved each one. I intended to do the same every year after that but with the pandemic and lockdowns, I could barely muster the focus to finish a single book, much list a whole list of them. I didn’t think you would appreciate the list of all the shows I binge-watched while anxiously waiting for the world to return to normal again so I skipped a book list in 2020.

I don’t know about you but my mental health has not quite felt the same since the beginning of the pandemic. I have barely written anything since Covid and the way of the world since then seems a far cry from its former self. Earlier this year to try to start on the path back to my individual normalcy, I made it my intention this year to start reading again. It all started with the first book on this list back in May, Old Path, White Clouds. It is one of the most impactful books I’ve read as you might expect from the story of Buddha from a 3rd party’s perspective. It is chock full of lessons I definitely needed to hear as I began processing the events of the past year.

From the Story of Buddha to Will Smith’s memoir, this list is full of the books that helped me pull me out of the mental slump I felt moving past 2020. I hope that…

--

--

Trevor Carlson

Below average dancer, poor man's yogi, meditate sometimes, and host of The Essential Digital Nomad (essentialdigitalnomad.com) with Trevor Carlson